I just became a Global Parent with UNICEF. By no means am I sharing this to impress or boast as I don’t think the amount of money I’m giving would impress anyone. I just simply wanted to let people know how sometimes, it can be very easy to help in a big way.

I was watching TV the other day and a commercial came on with footage from places in and around Africa. It showed footage of child-soldiers, kids living on the street and little babies undernourished to the point of sickness. It’s not like I haven’t seen those same pictures before, on many occasions, and I didn’t understand why it had hit me so hard at that moment. But it did, and it was so obvious to me that I should try and help. Better late than never I guess.

I know by now how people are, especially in my age. I know it is easier to just switch channels, watch Friends for 5 minutes and forget about the stuff that is happening, all because doing something seems like a lot of work. I bet if people had a button right next to their couch (a button they didn’t have to move to get to) that gave 1 dollar to UNICEF every time you pressed it, they would see a huge increase in donations. But the thing is, it couldn’t be easier. The only thing I had to do was to fill out a form online and later send in my account details by regular mail. Thats’ it. Sure, I understand that some people are just not in a position to donate money. But don’t ignore this because of something stupid, like laziness.

The last thing I want to do with this post is to give people a bad conscience, even though they will probably take those kind of donations too. I understand how people need to look after themselves before being able to properly help others. And obviously there are many ways to help, this is just one way. My intention was only to show people that helping can be so simple, and yet make such a big difference. Please read more on the below website:

http://www.unicef.ca/portal/SmartDefault.aspx?at=1294

(if you are skeptical and want to know more about where the money actually goes, you are given a contact person who you can call or email and that will explain the process to you further)

/Jonas

