Hey and happy holidays to you!

Now that Christmas 2009 is almost over and all our attention is directed towards New Years celebrations, I would like to say a few words about this years’ holidays.

I got all the food I wanted, almost all the family I wanted and especially all the snow I wanted. Still it didn’t quite bring back the feelings this time of the year used to cause when I was a child. And that, I understand now, is something I just have to accept. It will never be the same as before. Only when I have a family of my own and I witness the same happiness in my children’s faces, I think I will be able to get a slice of that feeling back.

The snow this year took Christmas 2009 from a B+ to an A-. Everyone should at some point in their life get to experience this much snow. Yes, it is cold and yes, it is wet. But seeing it lie on top of houses and trees, painting the neighborhood completely white and giving a lot of light to a very dark time of the year, is just amazing.

So now we look forward to a New Years Eve with good friends. I don’t really care about the fact of New Years Eve, for me it is just an excuse to spend quality time with my friends who are here now, all at the same time. A wonderful privilege.

Merry Christmas for the last time this year,

Jonas

