I’m going home in a couple of weeks. I need to re-charge my batteries. I want to see my parents. Once a year is just not enough.

I’m lucky to be in such a beautiful place and I know if I stay at home too long I’ll wish to come back here. But going home is special to me. Being in Dubai exposes me to a certain kind of people with a certain set of values and ambitions. Going home puts things into perspective. I come from a town of 50 000 people so yes, it is a big difference. Life is more simplistic and since your options are limited, you don’t have to worry about making too many tough choices. Sometimes that can be a blessing. That’s partially why I can’t wait to come home. I feel like living without choice for a while and just let circumstance make all decisions for me.

I’ve thought about what kind of person I would be if I was brought up in a big city with more options and opportunities. Sometimes I have felt a bitterness over my circumstances, as if I was deprived of a real chance of making it. But at the end of the day, looking back at what I have learnt from growing up where I did and what kind of person that has made me, I can only be grateful.

Football (beach and grass), tennis, gigs, jams (music and berry), old friends, family and of course, food. A lot of stuff to look forward to. I hope it will give me the inspiration I want and need. I have written three new songs this past year but have a feeling my trip home will result in a huge boost in that area. I’ll let you know how that pans out.

Off to the gym now. There is a lot of people I have to be better-looking than when I come home. You wouldn’t understand…

Jonas

