Just for the record, if I had a good camera and some photography skills I could secure my pulitzer tonight. I’m looking at a thunder storm and it’s like something I’ve never seen before. Frankenstein is coming to life somewhere in Dubai I’ll tell you that. 

Anyway, I just wanted to share my thoughts on something. I went to a live hip-hop show yesterday at Touch Nightclub (which is a really cool little place by the way) down in Bur Dubai . My friend was performing among a few other guys. Now, I just want to say that I have always been a huge fan of the genre in general and Warren G (before Prince Igor), Guru and Talib Kweli (among others) definitely helped raise me musically. But what I realized after yesterday is that hip-hop LIVE doesn’t do it for me. Sure, I enjoy a good beat as much as the next guy but after a while into the show, when you start looking for content, I usually get disappointed. And I’m not coming down on small club scenes here because I feel the same way about arena concerts with 50 cent for example. It’s especially hard to follow the lyrics when you have five other guys on stage doing the harmony, without singing, just a lot of oh’s, ah’s and mostly uh’s. A live show is not only about having fun, it’s also about gaining something on a more personal level which I think the lyrics can help you with. So when you go see someone that you know have a lot of smart things to say, it really sucks when you can’t actually hear him. Just a loud beat and a bunch of other noise. 

About the Dubai hip-hop acts, I appreciate the fact that there is something in motion here and that people are starting to build up an interest more and more. Some of the guys here have amazing talent and I would be thrilled to sit down together to try to make an impact. 

/Jonas

