Good morning,

My brother told me yesterday about this book he is reading written by Malcolm Gladwell. It’s called Outliers and in it he is talking about success and examines well-known success stories and basically tries to explain why they happened. He also mentions talent but not in a way that it is usually mentioned (the way I thought of it) and tries to explain that talent has very little to do with success. He emphasizes more that it’s how you facilitate that that talent, how much you can and will PRACTICE that matters the most in the end. One thing that is fundamental for this theory to stick is that you have to have the opportunity to practice a lot. Someone with 3 kids to take care of or someone with a 12 hour job every day doesn’t get the same chance to practice and someone who has time. Someone like me. And that’s what I’m trying to get to.

Right now in my life I have the opportunity to practice and it would be a waste not to take care of that chance. Sure it shouldn’t be a pressured thing, like I’m only doing it because I think I should, but fortunately, that is not the case here. It make me glad to say that I enjoy it. I enjoy practicing and I can do it for many hours straight.

Now, I don’t know if this is something that I should be doing. I might experience something tomorrow that proves this theory wrong and turns me in a different direction, and this time will have been wasted anyway. But right now I’ll take it. Because it is an encouraging thought that if you practice enough, you will be the best. That in the end, it is up to me.

JD

